leeherrick

Thinking of the City & Its Poets

In Uncategorized on September 29, 2009 at 12:00 am

I’m thinking a lot about Frank O’Hara and urban/city poets these days, especially after Jim Carroll’s passing.  I bought The Basketball Diaries after seeing Leonardo DiCaprio in the film, but while I liked the book and the film, neither captured my attention as much as Carroll’s poem “8 Fragments for Kurt Cobain,” the first poem in Void of Course.  Maybe I’m thinking of the city because I am reading Oscar Bermeo’s fine poems, or maybe it’s because I’ve seen some people quite down on their luck as of late, speaking to phantoms outside post offices and other government buildings, scratching at their arms or staring up at the sky as if something were about to fall out of it.

Leave a Reply

